CSS Navigation Menus Css3Menu.com

The Chautauqua, Cattaraugus, Allegany, and Steuben Southern Tier Extension Railroad Authority, more commonly known as the Southern Tier Extension Railroad Authority or STERA, is a local public authority created by the NYS Legislature in response to home rule requests in Chautauqua, Cattaraugus, Allegany, and Steuben Counties of NYS.

Please visit the "ABOUT STERA" pages on this web site to learn more about  STERA's creation, mission, history, and ongoing operations.

STERA is currently involved with two railroad lines, which are called the Southern Tier Extension and the Buffalo Line.  These two lines interconnect in Olean, NY. The Southern Tier Extension is a 145-mile long rail line (formerly the Erie-Lackawanna mainline) that runs between Corry, PA and Hornell, NY.  The Southern Tier Extension has interconnections with other rail lines at each end.  The Southern Tier Extension serves the cities of Jamestown, Salamanca, Olean, and Hornell; the Village of Wellsville; and other small towns along the line. The Buffalo Line is a 40-mile long rail line that runs between Machias Junction and Cattaraugus County, NY and the PA state line at Portville, NY. 

The Buffalo Line also has interconnections with other rail lines at each end.  The Buffalo line serves the City of Olean and other villages and towns along the line in NY and PA. STERA works in conjunction with its members counties, NYS DOT, Norfolk Southern Corp. and the WNY and PA Railroad LLC to promote rail service on these two lines and try to promote economic development by improving the efficiency of freight shipping in southwestern NYS and PA.